Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Hungary - Subdivisions - The Capital and Cities (index)

Last modified: 2004-12-30 by dov gutterman
Keywords: hungary | subdivisions |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


The cities are not part of the counties, they are independent, but are counted at the Counties as per public administration.
As a part of the administrative reform, system of the new cities (Like County by Right) was introduced on 1 December, 1990, when 16 county towns (Békéscsaba, Debrecen, Eger, Győr, Kaposvár, Kecskemét, Miskolc, Nyíregyháza, Pécs, Szeged, Székesfehérvár, Szolnok, Szombathely, Tatabánya, Veszprém, Zalaegerszeg) and 4 bigger towns (Dunaújváros, Hódmezővásárhely, Nagykanizsa, Sopron) became cities. Later, on 30 October, 1994, the remaining 2 county towns (Salgótarján and Szekszárd) were declared cities to finish this reform.
All the cities have been traditional Hungarian towns for a long time, except Dunaújváros and Tatabánya.
In 2004, Hungary has 251 towns, 22 cities (Like County by Right) and the capital (főváros).
Zoltán Turay, 28 December 2004

The capital (Fováros) and Cities (Like County by Right - Megyei Jogú Város)

Note: The Cities are not part of the counties.

The Capital

The Cities:

Lists edited with the partcipation of István Molnár and Zoltán Turay