Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Tytsjerksteradiel (The Netherlands)

Tietjerksteradeel municipality, Fryslân province

Last modified: 2004-05-15 by jarig bakker
Keywords: tytsjerksteradiel |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Tietjerksteradeel flag] by Jarig Bakker, 5 May 2004
Adopted 22 Nov 1984; granted by Royal Resolution 11 Jul 1985. Design: Mr. G.D. Bontekoe.

The villages: See also:

Tytsjerksteradiel (Tietjerksteradeel)

Tietjerksteradeel/Tytsjerksteradiel lies just east of the Frisian capital, Leeuwarden. It is mainly a forensic place for people working in Leeuwarden. It has Dutch renown as a tongue-twister.
Flag: gored divided in eight fields of red and white; the white fields charged with a green oakleaf; in the center a blue escutcheon, charged with a yellow hunting-horn. Adopted 22 Nov 1984; granted by Royal Resolution 11 Jul 1985. Design: Mr. G.D. Bontekoe.
The new flag has retained the red and white colors and the posthorn (which is thus far some mystery) and added the oakleaf for the woody environment.
Jarig Bakker, 4 September 1999

The village flags and CoAs of this municipality have been scanned by me from 'Doarpswapens en doarpsflaggen fan de doarpen yn de gemeente Tytsjerksteradiel', - Village CoAs and village flags in the municipality of Tytsjerksteradiel, edited by the municipality, Burgum, 1996. They have been giffed by Gerard van der Vaart.
In 1977 there was a corso with decorated carts in the 7 villages of the 'Trynwâlden-quarter' of the municipality (= three forests). For those villages 7 flags and CoAs were designed. Later on there were deliberations between the 'Fryske Rie foar de Heraldyk' (Frisian Heraldic Council), the village local councils and the municipal Cultural Council, by which in 1986 16 village flags and CoAs were adopted.
A note on the language: In Dongeradeel the official language is still Dutch, while Frisian is accepted as second language. In Tytsjerksteradiel (Dutch: Tietjerksteradeel) the official language seems to be Frisian; hence I use the Frisian village names here.
Jarig Bakker, 5 November 2000

Tytsjerksteradiel CoA

[Tytsjerksteradiel CoA] by Jarig Bakker, 8 May 2003
granted 25 Mar 1818; revised 11 Jul 1985

Description: Quartered: I. in red in saltire a dipping-net and a scythe of silver; II. in silver a reedplant of three plumes on soil, all of green; III. in silver three planted trees of green; IV. in blue a hunting horn of gold. The shield surmounted by a golden crown of three leaves and two times three pearls.

The municipal arms of Tytsjerksteradiel consists of four divisional arms:
I. (top left) the Tytsjerkster quarter, consisting of the villages Tytsjerk, Ryptsjerk and Suwâld.
II. (top right) with the three reedplumes is the Sumarder quarter, with the villages Sumar, Eastermar and Jistrum.
III. (bottom left) the Trynwâldster quarter, with the villages Oentsjerk, Âldtsjerk, Gytsjerk (and Mûnein).
IV. (bottom right) the Burgumer quarter, with the villages Burgum (Noardburgum), Garyp and Hurdegaryp.
Two villages are not represented in the municipal arms: Wyns and Earnewâld.
Source: 'Doarpswapens en doarpsflaggen fan de doarpen yn de gemeente Tytsjerksteradiel'
Jarig Bakker, 8 May 2003

Tytsjerksteradiel wimpel

[Tytsjerksteradiel wimpel] by Jarig Bakker, 19 Aug 2003

All Frisian municipalities have the right to use wimpels for festive occasions, long bi-colored flags with in the hoist a characteristic element of the municipal flag or CoA.
The description of the wimpel of Tytsjersteradiel is: two equally wide stripes of red and white with a square blue hoist in which a yellow stringed hunting horn.
Design: K. Bultsma
Adoption date: unknown
Source: typewritten letter of Mr. Bultsma.
Jarig Bakker, 19 Aug 2003

Historical flag

former flag Tietjerkseradeel by Jarig Bakker, 5 May 2004
adopted 6 Jul 1956

On 6 July 1956 a flag was adopted, consisting of three equally wide horizontal bars; the first and third bar white, the middle bar divided in five equally wide stripes in 3 red and 2 white stripes and toward the hoist a black horn with yellow inlay and cord.
This flag was in use until 1984.
Jarig Bakker, 2 Dec 1999