Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

County and Municipal Flags (Schleswig-Holstein, Germany)

Kreis- und Gemeindeflaggen

Last modified: 2006-09-02 by jarig bakker
Keywords: schleswig-holstein |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

  • Other Schleswig-Holstein county and municipal flags:
  • See also:

    County Flags / Kreisflaggen

    Schleswig-Holstein, Germany's northernmost state, has eleven counties, all of which have flags, and I was able to get information on five of them. In general, the designs are more varied than those of Rhineland-Palatinate. Sources: Stadler 1964-1971 and Reissmann 1997. You can find a map of the counties in this webpage.
    Stefan Schwoon, 31 Jan 2001

    County-Free City Flags / Flaggen kreisfreier Städte

    Schleswig-Holstein has four county-free cities (Kreisfreie Städte): Flensburg, Kiel, Lübeck and Neumünster.
    Stefan Schwoon, 12 Feb 2001

    Angeln Region / Landschaft Angeln

    [Angeln Region (Schleswig-Holstein, Germany)] image by by Pascal Vagnat

    The flag of Landschaft Angeln (Angeln region) in Schleswig-Holstein (Germany) appears in their website, including an image of an actual flag. Angeln is a peninsula between the Flensburger Busen and the Schlei river with in the north Flensburg and in the south Schleswig. It is supposed to be the home country of the Angles tribe, [which with the Saxons invaded England and] from which [the term] Anglosaxon is derived. (...) The region's coat-of-arms can be seen in this webpage. The shield is divided into 9 parts, which stand for 8 old divisions (Harden) of Angeln - left to right:
    Husbyharde, Munkbrarupharde, Nieharde, (Neueharde not included), area between Kappeln and Brodersby, Kappeln-Harde, Struxdorfharde, Satrupharde, Mohrkirchharde, Füsingharde.
    Jarig Bakker, 9 Nov 1999

    Fehmarn City

    Since 1st of January the four communities of the Island Fehmarn (Schleswig-Holstein, county Ostholstein) are united to the city of Fehmarn. It is now Schleswig-Holstein's second biggest city by area. It includes the settlements of Puttgarden, Bannesdorf, Burg, Orth, Landkirchen and Petersdorf.
    Source: ZDF - German TV.
    J. Patrick Fischer, 6 Jan 2003

    There is already a flag for the island of Fehmarn available at some German flag shops. The flag is blue with a golden crown (inside red) in the middle. See a picture at this webpage. That flag will probably be the flag of that new city of Fehmarn.
    Pascal Vagnat, 6 Jan 2003

    Some more information: Until 2002 there were four municipalities on the island: Burg auf Fehmarn (city), Bannesdorf auf Fehmarn, Landkirchen auf Fehmarn, and Westfehmarn. The latter three were joined in the Amt Fehmarn (an Amt is a level of administration between municipality and council level).
    According to the website of Burg council the councils of the four former municipalities agreed to the union on September 5th, 2002. The parliament of Schleswig-Holstein passed a law to this effect on October 11th, 2002. The law proposal is available here. According to the proposal the Amt is to be disbanded on January 1st, 2003, and the four municipalities are united to a new city by the name of "Fehmarn".
    The agreement concerning the details of the unification (available from the Burg council) does not mention flags or coats-of-arms. Unfortunately, I have no information about the "Fehmarn" flag that was mentioned by Pascal.
    Stefan Schwoon, 7 Jan 2003