Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Bad Neustadt County until 1972 (Unterfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Bad Neustadt

Last modified: 2004-12-29 by santiago dotor
Keywords: landkreis bad neustadt | bad neustadt county | coat of arms (crown: imperial) | coat of arms (crown: charlemagne) | coat of arms (crosses: white) | coat of arms (crosses: 3) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Bad Neustadt County until 1972 (Unterfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)]
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag and coat-of-arms adopted 13th June 1966, abolished 30th June 1972

See also:

Other sites:


Yellow-red-white, adopted 13.06.1966. Merged with Mellrichstadt and Königshofen counties into the new county Rhön-Grabfeld in the 1972 municipal reform. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Stadler 1964-1972.

Stefan Schwoon, 14 August 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on June 13, 1966. The upper part shows an Imperial crown, which indicates that already in the 11th century the Emperors had large possessions in the district, such as the Salz estate, the Salzgau and the Royal church in Brend. In later times the largest part of the district belonged to the Bishops of Würzburg. The colours red and white are the colours of the State of Würzburg. The crosses in the lower part symbolise the Kreuzberg ('cross-mountain'), with a large monastery, to which used to be an important place of pilgimage.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1972.

Santiago Dotor, 15 July 2003