Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Belgium: Municipal flags

Last modified: 2005-12-03 by ivan sache
Keywords: belgium | municipality |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

External links:

Status of the municipalities

Belgium is divided into municipalities called Gemeenten (Dutch) or Communes (French).
Some municipalities present themselves officially as towns, that is Stad (Dutch) or Ville de(French), for instance Stad Aalst and Ville de Charleroi. According to Tom Doesselaere, from the Flemish Government website, this privilege is still based on medieval city rights and freedom charters.

The list of the towns is given on the website of the Union of the Belgian Towns and Municipalities (Vereniging van Belgische Steden en Gemeenten - Union des Villes et Communes belges), as follows:

- Flanders:
Aalst, Aarschot, Antwerp, Beringen, Bilzen, Blankenberge, Borgloon, Bree, Bruges, Damme, Deinze, Dendermonde, Diest, Dixsmuide, Dilsen-Stokkem, Eeklo, Geel, Ghent, Geraardsbergen, Gistel, Halen, Halle, Hamont-Achel, Harelbeke, Hasselt, Herentals, Herk-de-Stad, Hoogstraten, Ieper, Izegem, Kortrijk, Landen, Leuven, Lier, Lo-Reninge, Lokeren, Lommel, Maaseik, Mechlin, Menen, Nieuwpoort, Ninove, Ostende, Oudenaarde, Oudenburg, Peer, Poperinge, Roeselare, Ronse, Scherpenheuvel-Zichem, Sint-Niklaas, Sint-Truiden, Tienen, Tongeren, Torhout, Turnhout, Veurne, Vilvoorde, Wervik, Zottegem and Zoutleeuw.

- Brussels-Capitale:

- Wallonia:
Arlon, Ath, Bastogne, Beaumont, Beauraing, Binche, Bouillon, Braine-le-Comte, Charleroi, Châtelet, Chiny, Comines-Warneton, Couvin, Dinant, Durbuy, Enghien, Eupen, Fleurus, Fontaine-l'Evêque, Fosses-la-Ville, Gembloux, Genappe, Hannut, Herve, Houffalize, Huy, Jodoigne, La Louvière, La Roche-en-Ardenne, Le Roeulx, Lessines, Liège, Limbourg, Malmédy, Marche-en-Famenne, Mons, Mouscron, Namur, Neufchâteau, Nivelles, Péruwelz, Philippeville, Rochefort, Saint-Ghislain, Saint-Hubert, Sankt Vith, Soignies, Stavelot, Thuin, Tournai, Verviers, Virton, Visé, Walcourt, Waremme and Wavre.

These lists are slightly outdated and must be completed with a few municipalities that were recently granted the title of town: Genk and Waregem (23 June 1999) and Mortsel (1 January 2000) in Flanders; Seraing (23 June 1999) and maybe Sambreville (recently) in Wallonia.

Gerard van der Vaart, Jan Mertens & Ivan Sache, 23 April 2005

Geographical index of Belgian municipal flags