Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Transvaal (Province of South Africa 1910-1994)

Last modified: 2005-09-10 by bruce berry
Keywords: south africa | transvaal |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Transvaal - introduction

The Transvaal (so called because it was situated beyond the Vaal river, as seen from the Cape of Good Hope) was in the northeast of South Africa, bordering on Swaziland, Zimbabwe and Botswana and included the bantustans of Gazankulu, Venda, Lebowa, KwaNdebele (in its central northern part), KaNgwane (to the north of the Swazi border) and the eastern enclaves of Bophuthatswana.  It has been reorganized into the new provinces of Limpopo Province, Gauteng, Mpumalanga and North-West (eastern half) in 1994.

When a province of South Africa between 1910 and 1994, Transvaal had no official provincial flag but the flag of the former Boer republic of the Zuid-Afrikaansche Republiek was often used unofficially.
Antonio Martins, 30 May 1999