Buy State Flags from 
Allstate FlagsBuy US flags 
from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Cher (Department, France)

Last modified: 2005-03-05 by ivan sache
Keywords: cher | berry | centre |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 18
Region: Centre
Traditional provinces: Berry, Bourbonnais, Orléanais
Bordering departments: Allier, Creuse, Indre, Loir-et-Cher, Loiret, Nièvre

Area: 7,235 km2
Population (1995): 321,100 inhabitants

Préfecture: Bourges
Sous-préfectures: Saint-Amand-Montrond, Vierzon
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 35 cantons, 290 communes.

The department is named after the river Cher (350 km), tributary of Loire.

Use of the traditional flag of Berry

[Flag of Berry]by Pierre Gay

The banner of arms of the traditional province of Berry can sometimes be seen in the department (Sancerre, Bourges, etc...)
The department has no official coat of arms and never had any.

Pascal Vagnat, 21 February 1999