Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Staffelstein County until 1972 (Oberfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)

Landkreis Staffelstein

Last modified: 2004-12-29 by santiago dotor
Keywords: landkreis staffelstein | staffelstein county | coat of arms: per pale (king: throne) | coat of arms: per pale (emperor: henry ii) | coat of arms: per pale (basilisk: red) | coat of arms: per pale (bendy wavy) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Staffelstein County until 1972 (Oberfranken District, Bavaria, Germany)] 5:2
by Stefan Schwoon
Flag and coat-of-arms adopted 12th November 1962, abolished 30th June 1972

See also:


Red-white-blue, adopted 12.11.1962. Annexed to the counties Coburg and Lichtenfels under the 1972 municipal reform. Sources: Linder and Schmidt 2000, arms image from Stadler 1964-1972.

Stefan Schwoon, 10 August 2001

From Ralf Hartemink's International Civic Arms website:

The arms were granted on November 12, 1962. The throne with Emperor Heinrich II was the old arms of the Domkapitel (Chapter) of the Bamberg Cathedral, that owned the area around Staffelstein. The basilisk is taken from the arms of the Benedictine Abbey of Banz, as the abbey held the estate of Baunach in the district. The lower part of the arms shows the points taken from the arms of the State of Würzburg, as the bishops of Würzburg owned the Sesslach estate.

Literature: Stadler 1964-1972.

Santiago Dotor, 15 July 2003