Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Colombia - Departments - Overview and Index

Last modified: 2004-07-31 by dov gutterman
Keywords: colombia |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Antonio Broto, 12 July 2001

See Also:

Other Sites:

Departamentos - Overview

According to the 1991 Political Constitution of Colombia, the current tittle for the formerly Intendencias and Comisareas is Departamentos. this is only a type of territorial entities now.
Mario de la Calle Lombana, 26 September 1999

The Departaments and Capitals are:

Amazon Region - Major City in this Region: Florencia, Caqueta:
- Amazonas/Leticia
- Putumayo/Mocoa
- Caquetá/Florencia
- Guaviare/San José del Guaviare
- Vaupés/Mitú (Mitu)
- Guainía/Puerto Inirida (ex-Puerto Obando)

Orinoquia "Llanos Orientales" ( Eastern Plains) - Major City in this Region: Villavicencio:
- Meta/Villavicencio
- Casanare/Yopal
- Vichada/Puerto Carreño
- Arauca/Arauca

The Pacific Región:
The Western Part of Western Mountains of Departamen of Valle del Cauca, Nariño and Cauca are Part of Pacific Región. Mjor City in this Region: Buenaventura, Valle del Cauca
-Chocó/Quibdó (Quibdo)

Andes Region - Major City in this Region: Santafé de Bogota
- Nariño/Pasto (San Juan de Pasto)
- Cauca/Popayan
- Valle del Cauca
- Huila/Neiva
- Tolima/Ibagué
- Quindio/Armenia
- Risaralda/Pereira
- Caldas/Manizales
- Cundinamarca/Bogotá (Santafé de Bogotá D.C.)
- Boyacá/Tunja
- Santander/Bucaramanga
- Norte de Santander/Cucutá (San José de Cucutá)
- Antioquia/Medellín

Caribbean Región - Major City in this Region: Barranquilla
- San Andrés, Providencia and Santa Catalina/San Andrés Island
- Córdoba/Montería
- Sucre/Sincelejo
- Cesar/Valledupar
- Bolívar/Cartagena (Cartagena de Indias)
- Atlántico/Barranquilla
- Magdalena/Santa Marta
- La Guajira/Riohacha

The Constitution of 1991 had created Metropolitan Areas:
- Metropolitan Area of Aburra Valley "Medellin" (Medellín - Barbosa - Bello - Caldas - Copacabana - Envigado - Girardota - Itagui - La Estrella-Sabaneta) was created ny Decree 038 of 13 January of 1991
- Metropolitan Area of Bucaramanga (Bucaramanga - Floridablanca - Piedecuesta - Giron)
- Metropolitan Area of Cucuta (Cucuta - Villa del Rosario - El Zulia - San Cayetano - Los Patios)
- Metropolitan Area of Barranquilla (Barranquilla - Soledad - Malambo - Puerto Colombia)
- Metropolitan Area of Pereira (Pereira - Dosquebradas - La Virginia)

There are also 4 Districts:
- District Capital ( Santafe de Bogota)
- Port and Industrial District of Barranquilla
- Tourism and Cultural District of Cartagena ( Cartagena de Indias )
- Tourism, Cultural and Histrorial District of Santa Marta (In Santa Marta Simon Bolivar Died).
Luis Carrillo, 23 July 2002

Click here for a set of Colombian departments small flags by Blas Delgado, 6 October 2001

List of the "Departamentos"

Distrito Capital

Other Territories

Quita Sueno Bank, Roncador Cay and Serrana Bank

On September 8, 1972, the US and Columbia signed a treaty in Bogota recognizing Columbia's sovereignty over Quita Sueno Bank, Roncador Cay and Serrana Bank. The treaty was effective September 17, 1981.
Phil Nelson , 27 April 2000

Serranilla Bank

Claimed by both the United States and Columbia. This is a series of small cays located approximately 210 miles NNE of Nicaragua. These islands were originally claimed by the US under the Guano Act. Columbia considers this part of the Province Archipelago (San Andrés y Providencia ). Additionally, Honduras appears to have claimed this area as well.
Phil Nelson , 27 April 2000