Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Chiriqui Province (Panama)

Provincia de Chiriquí

Last modified: 2004-06-05 by dov gutterman
Keywords: panama | chiriqui |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

by Pascal Gross, 19 June 2000

See also:


Province of Chiriqui. Its flag could be seen at the bottom of the page available at <> (defunct).
Pascal Gross, 19 June 2000

On 26 May 2004, the 155th anniversary of the foundation of the province was celebrated in Barú, with the participation of delegations from the schools and colleges from the 13 districts (distritos) of the province. The celebration started at 8:00 with the raising of the national flag and the provincial flag in the Government of the province. The traditional cremacion de banderas took place there, but I don't know what it is exactly, some traditional flag burning?
I skip the long list of the local politicians who attended the ceremony, only mentioning the presence of recently elected (3 May 2004) president of the Republic Martín Torrijos, the son of the former, controversial president General Omar Torrijos (1968-1981). At the end of the celebration, Franklin Valdés alcade (mayor) of Baru, offered the provincial banner to Juan Serrano, alcade of Boquerón , where the celebration of the 156th anniversary of the province shall take place next year.
The whole story and pictures of the celebration, unfortunately not showing the flag, can be read, in Spanish, in La Prensa (Panama) at <>. The article by Sandra Alicia Rivera includes more details on Chiriqui, which I am summarizing now.
History - The name of the province comes from cheriquí, a word used by the natives to designate the highest cumbre (?) of the cordillera and meaning "valley of the Moon and land of the two big waters". Another version says that Chiriqui was the name of a native famous for his strength. Law 62 of 26 May 1849 officially established the provincial administration of Chiriqui, made of the nine districts of Alanje, Boqueron, David (capital city), Dolega, Gualaca, San Félix , San Lorenzo, San Pablo and Remedios. The districts of Baru, Boquete, Renacimiento and Bugaba were later incorporated to the province.
Geography (supplemented with data from Encyclopaedia Universalis Yearbook, 1998) - The province of Chiriqui is located in the west of the country. It is bordered on west by Costa Rica, on north by the province of Bocas del Toro, in the east by province of Veraguas and in the south by Pacific Ocean. It has an area of 8,653 sq. km and a population of c. 370,000 inhabitants (second most inhabited district in Panama). The capital city of the province is David, with c. 65,800 inhabitants (third largest city in Panama), whereas Baru has c. 45,000 inhabitants (fifth largest city in Panama).
Economy - The province has a big, diversified agricultural production. There is alos a significant industrial acticity in the province, whose products can be shipped from the ports of Charco Azul and Pedregal. Chiriqui is also a main destination for national and international tourism. The most visited place in the province is Volcan Baru (3,475 m), located in the Cordillera of Talamanca. In the highlands of the province is located the place called "Valley of Flowers and Everlasting Spring", in the district of Boquete.
Ivan Sache, 29 May 2004

Republic of Chiriqui (1965)

by Jaume Olle', 21 June 2000

Colors of the flag were originated in 1965 when the indians, led by Samuel Gonzalez proclaimed the Chiriqui republic. This new state was short lived and national Guard supresed the republic in few days.
Jaume Olle', 21 June 2000