Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Panama - Subdivisions

Last modified: 2004-08-14 by dov gutterman
Keywords: panama |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:


Today I received news about the last province of Panama that has flag but remained unknown yet. This province is Bocas del Toro that has an unofficial flag (mainly used by sport events).
Then there are the following flags:
4 provinces with official flag (Veraguas, Colon, Chiriqui and San Blas)
1 provinces with flag of unknown status (Los Santos)
2 province with unofficial flag (Herrera and Bocas del Toro)
1 province with official proposal (while is used as unofficial flag) (Cocle)
1 province with unofficial proposal, without official flag and no info about unofficial flag (Panama)
1 province without official flag and no info about unofficial flag (Darien)
1 comarca with official flag (Ngobe Bugle)
2 comarcas with de facto flag (Wargandi and Mandungandi)
1 comarcas with no news (Embera/Wounan) but surely without official flag yet.
Jaume Olle', 22 August 2002

The Provinces

- Bocas del Toro
- Coclé
- Colón
- Chiriqui
- Darién
- Herrera
- Los Santos
- Panamá
- Veraguas
- Kuna de Madungandí  
- Ngöbe Buglé
- Kuna de Wargandi

Indigenous Districts

- Kuna Yala
- Ngöbe Buglé
- Emberá

Ths list of the provinces includes three "indigenous districts". They are: Kuna Yala (Comarca de San Blas), capital city El Porvenir, Embera and Guaymi (Ngobe-Buglé), created in December 1996 with parts of the provinces of Boca del Toro and Veraguas.
Kuna de Madugandi and Kuna de Wargandi are not listed in my source (Encyclopaedia Universalis Yearbook 1998) and might have been created more recently.
Kuna Yala is covered in the Kuna Indian page.
Ivan Sache, 19 June 2002

Municipalities Represented in FOTW