Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Zederik (The Netherlands)

Zuid-Holland province

Last modified: 2004-09-24 by jarig bakker
Keywords: zederik |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Zederik municipality  Shipmate Flagchart :
adopted 25 May 1987 Other Zederik pages: See also:

Zederik municipality

On 1 Jan 1986 the municipality of Zederik was formed out of the merger of seven former municipalities in the Alblasserwaard and the Vijfheerenlanden, namely Ameide, Hei- en Boeicop, Leerbroek, Lexmond, Meerkerk, Nieuwland and Tienhoven. On 1 Jan 2003 it had 13.565 on 7847 ha. The name "Zederik" refers to a small river, Zederik, which gained some fame in 1825, when the Zederik-kanaal was dug, which formed part of the "Keulse Vaart", the Cologne-channel. At present the municipality consists of the villages Ameide, Hei- en Boeicop, Leerbroek, Lezmond, Meerkerk (seat), Nieuwland, and Tienhoven.
The municipal flag was adopted by municipal resolution of 25 May 1987.
Description: horizontal stripes yellow - white - yellow; white on yellow bordered red and with at least four embattlements; and over white at 1/3 flaglength a seven-leaved red yellow-pointed rose.
Source: the municipal website.
Jarig Bakker, 14 May 2003

Zederik CoA

[Zederik coat of arms]  by Jarig Bakker, 18 Sep 2004
Granted 5 Jun 1986.

The Zederik arms consist of elements from the CoA's of all 7 former municipalities.
Jarig Bakker, 14 May 2003