Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Heerenveen (The Netherlands)

Fryslân province

Last modified: 2004-10-02 by jarig bakker
Keywords: heerenveen | abe |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

heerenveen municipality Shipmate Flagchart :

Other Heerenveen pages: See also:

Heerenveen municipality

Number of inhabitants (1 Jan 2003): 42.190; area: 140,16 km². Settlements: Bontebok, De Knipe, Gersloot, Heerenveen (seat), Hoornsterzwaag, Jubbega, Katlijk, Luinjeberd, Mildam, Nieuwehorne, Nieuweschoot, Oranjewoud, Oudehorne, Oudeschoot, Terband, Tjalleberd.
Heerenveen/Hearrenfean is a municipality in southeast Friesland in the Netherlands. It is a rather new municipality (c. 1935), consisting of mergers of several old 'grietenijen' like Aengwirden and Schoterland, parts of Haskerland and since the reorganisation of 1984 of some other municipalities as well.
It is former moorland, which after the peat was dug out became a domain of the Dutch princes. 'Heerenveen' means: moorland of the lord. Nearby is the village of 'Oranjewoud/Oranjewâld', the summer-residence of the princes of Orange. The flag is not known as well as the shirt of the soccerteam of Heerenveen.
Jarig Bakker, 27 August 1999

Heerenveen CoA

Heerenveen CoA image from the Heerenveen municipal website.

Since 24 Oct 1935 the municipality of Heerenveen has its own CoA. Description: in the blue left part a broken wheel of silver and a silver sword, representing maintenance of law. In the silver right part is a green planted tree with on both sides a black block, symbolizing the presence of forests and peat-digging.
Jarig Bakker, 29 May 2003

Aengwirden former municipal CoA

[Aengwirden CoA]International Civic Arms :

Aengwirden was the second "grietenij" (municipality) of the old Zevenwouden division, northeast of Heerenveen; four villages: Gersloot, Tjalleberd, Luinjeberd and Terband.
CoA: in silver three green trees on a green base and between the trees and the shieldborder four black peatblocks.
This former municipality never had a flag. The four villages all hace a CoA; a flag has been designed; should it be adopted it will be representing all villages.
In 1934 this municipality became part of Schoterland; the merger received the new name of Heerenveen.

Jubbega [village]

[Jubbega village flag] Shipmate Flagchart :

Jubbega is a long village in Heerenveen municipality, Fryslân, and its flag can be bought at this webpage. It appears that there was some fuss about it, but I'm no subscriber to the Heerenveenster Courier, so I'm unable to tell the gruelling story.
The letters JSH stand for Jubbega - Schurega - Hoornsterzwaag; Jubbega-Schurega is the official name of the village, and Hoornsterzwaag is a few kilometers away (I suppose they form in practice one village). To Jubbega belongs Jubbegaastercompagnie, and to Hoornsterzwaag Hoornsterzwaagcompagnie, as well as Jubbega Derde Sluis - names
reminding of the old peat-digging days.
The flag was designed in 1997.
Jarig Bakker, 8 Jun 2003