Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Moselle (Department, France)

Last modified: 2005-12-24 by ivan sache
Keywords: moselle | lorraine | coat of arms | general council | wave (green) | tree (green) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Department of Moselle]

Flag of the department of Moselle - Image by Pascal Vagnat, 28 November 2000

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 57
Region: Lorraine
Traditional province: Lorraine
Bordering departments: Meurthe-et-Moselle, Bas-Rhin, Vosges
Bordering countries: Germany (Federal States of Saar and Rhineland-Palatinate), Luxembourg

Area: 6,216 km2
Population (1995): 1,015,900 inhabitants

Préfecture: Metz
Sous-préfectures: Boulay-Moselle, Château-Salins, Forbach, Sarrebourg, Sarreguemines, Thionville
Subdivisions: 9 arrondissements, 51 cantons, 718 communes.

The department is named after the river Moselle (550 km), tributary of Rhine.

The weird geographical shape of the department is the consequence of the complicated history of the area. The departement is made of territories which belonged to the duchy of Lorraine and the territory of Trois-Evêchés (Three-Bishoprics), which was independent of the duchy of Lorraine. Among the three bishoprics, Metz was incorporated to Moselle, Verdun to Meuse, and Toul to Meurthe-et-Moselle.

The department was annexed by Germany during 1870-1918.

Flag of the department of Moselle

The current flag of the department was officially adopted by the General Council in 2000. It features the logotype of the General Council.
Blue represents the rivers of the department, including Moselle, and green represents the nature of the departement.
The flag was offered to all the municipalities, districts and associations of the departement. It is used in the inner courtyard of the General Council, along with the former flag!.

[Former flag of Moselle]

Former flag of the department of Moselle - Image by Pascal Vagnat, 28 November 2000

The former flag of the department, probably designed in 1999, features the coat of arms of the department on a white field, with the name of the department below the coat of arms. The shield is quartered and represents:

The escutcheon is the coat of arms of the Bishopric of Metz.

Pascal Vagnat & Ivan Sache, 28 November 2000