Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Eure-et-Loir (Department, France)

Last modified: 2004-07-31 by ivan sache
Keywords: eure-et-loir | centre | general council | wheat |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the General Council]by Olivier Touzeau

Flag of the General Council of Eure-et-Loir

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 28
Region: Centre
Traditional provinces: Orléanais, Maine, Ile-de-France
Bordering departments: Eure, Loir-et-Cher, Loiret, Orne, Sarthe, Yvelines, Essonne

Area: 5,880 km2
Population (1995): 410,100 inhabitants

Préfecture: Chartres
Sous-préfectures: Châteaudun, Dreux, Nogent-le-Rotrou
Subdivisions: 4 arrondissements, 29 cantons, 402 communes.

The department is named after the rivers Eure (225 km), tributary of the Seine, and Loir (311 km), tributary of the Sarthe.

Flag of the General Council of Eure-et-Loir

The General Council of Eure-et-Loir flies, along the French national flag, a green flag with the logotype of the General Council occupying almost the full width of the flag.
This logotype was adopted in 1999. It is made of the full name of the departement, with the et (and) symbolized by an ampersand (&) made of wheat ears. Eure-et-Loir is in the French wheat producers toplist. A part of the Beauce region is in Eure-et-Loir, and Beauce used to be called "the wheat loft of France" (le grenier à blé de la France).

The General Council used before 1999 a logo made of the two blue letters EL with two red wavy lines and a little white "28" in the E. The letters and the lines are the symbols of the rivers who gave their names to the departement.

Olivier Touzeau, 29 September 2002