Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Stabroek (Municipality, Province of Antwerp, Belgium)

Last modified: 2005-11-12 by ivan sache
Keywords: stabroek | star: 8 points (blue) | star: 8 points (yellow) | star: 8 points (blue and yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Stabroek]

Municipal flag of Stabroek - Image by Arnaud Leroy, 14 July 2005

See also:

Presentation of Stabroek

The municipality of Stabroek (17,433 inhabitants on 31 December 2004; 2,144 ha) is a posh suburubs located in the north of Antwerp. It is made of the former municipalities of Stabroek (1,367 ha) and Hoevenen (782 ha).
Stabroek was the original name of Georgetown (Guyana).

Ivan Sache & Jarig Bakker, 14 July 2005

Municipal flag of Stabroek

The municipal flag of Stabroek is horizontally divided yellow-blue with three eight-pointed stars: the first one, blue, in the left part of the yellow stripe; the second one, yellow, in the left part of the blue stripe; and the third one, counterchanged, near the middle of the flag.

According to Gemeentewapens in België - Vlaanderen en Brussel, the flag was adopted by the Municipal Council on 6 April 1987, confirmed by the Executive of Flanders on 7 July 1987 and published in the Belgian official gazette on 3 December 1987. The colours of the flag are based on the colours of the municipal arms. The stars come from the second and third quarters of the arms.

According to Servais, the arms of Stabroek were granted on 12 September 1924; they were confirmed on 7 July 1987 by the Executive of Flanders (at the same time as the flag).
The arms are derived from the arms of the Van Haeze family, lords of Stabroek from the late XVIth century until 1762. The second and third quarters are azure an eight-pointed star.

Arnaud Leroy, Pascal Vagnat & Ivan Sache, 14 July 2005