Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Baarle-Hertog (Municipality, Province of Antwerp, Belgium)


Last modified: 2004-12-22 by ivan sache
Keywords: baarle-hertog | baerle-duc | saint (yellow) | crozier (yellow) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Baarle-Hertog]by Mark Sensen

See also:

Presentation of Baarle-Hertog

Baarle-Hertog is located in the arrondissement of Turnhout.

Baarle-Hertog shares its territory with the Belgian municipality of Baarle-Hertog, made of several enclaves in Dutch territory. In 12th century, the village of Baarle was split in two parts. The southern part was given to the duke of Brabant (therefore its name, "hertog" meaning "duke" in Dutch). The northern part was rattached to the baronny of Breda and has been named Baarle-Nassau since Breda became the main place of Nassau family in the beginning of the XVth century. The municipality limits are very complicated. Nowadays, each municipality has its city hall, church, police, school and post office. The houses of the two nationalities are totally mixed. They are identified by the shield bearing their number: the national flag is included on it.

Source: Entry Baarle-Nassau in Guide de Tourisme Michelin for the Netherlands

Ivan Sache, 27 July 1999

Speaking about this "borderologically" curious piece of land without going in great detail is nearly impossible. It consists of about 3,000 enclaves (!) surrounding each other; and only the Dutch and Belgian cadasters (ordnance surveys) know the exact boundaries. In the local pubs is a billiard table, where the balls pass the international boundary unchecked millions of times. Many houses have the front door in Belgium and the rest of the house in the Netherlands.

Jarig Bakker, 27 July 1999

Municipal flag of Baarle-Hertog

The municipal flag of Baarle-Hertog is blue with Saint Remigius on a base, all yellow. The description of the flag was enhanced by decree of the Municipal Council 10 May 1995, ratified by Ministerial decree 6 June 1995, retaining the picture laid down by decree of the Municipal Council 7 December 1987, and ratified by Ministerial decree 13 June 1989.

Source: Van evers en heiligen. Wapens en vlaggen van de gemeenten in de provincie Antwerpen [pbd98]

Mark Sensen, 27 July 1999