Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Peruvian-Bolivian Confederation (1838-1839)

Last modified: 2005-08-19 by antonio martins
Keywords: peru | bolivia | confederation | error | sun: 24 rays | coat of arms: per fess | santa cruz (general) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the Peruvian-Bolivian Confederation]
by Jaume Ollé
See also:

History of the confederation and its flag

J. G. Fuentes [fue75] shows the Peruvo-Bolivian Confederation 1836-39.
Dave Martucci, 19 Mar 2000

The Peruvo-Bolivian Confederation was a transitory union of Peru and Bolivia (1836-1839). Bolivia's dictator, Andrés Santa Cruz, conquered Peru after helping to quell an army rebellion against Peruvian president Luís José de Orbegoso in 1835. Santa Cruz then divided Peru into a northern and a southern part, with Orbegoso as president in the north and Gen. Ramón Herrera in the south. These states were then joined to Bolivia.
*Comentador Sinnombre, 24 Aug 2004

In 1838 General Santa Cruz created the Peruvian-Bolivian Confederation, and established as flag a red field with the three coats of arms of the constituent states in the center united by some interlaced garlands. The Confederation was formed by three states: Bolivia, North Peru and South Peru. In 1839, General Santa Cruz was overthrown and the confederation was disbanded.
Jaume Ollé, 26 Jul 1996

The cover of The Flag Bulletin XIV:5 (Sep-Oct 1975) [tfb], illustrating [fue75], shows coins bearing arms from Peru (1831), South Peru (1838), and Bolivia (1838).
Dave Martucci, 19 Mar 2000