Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nassau County, New York (U.S.)

Last modified: 2006-07-22 by rick wyatt
Keywords: new york | nassau county |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of Nassau County, New York] by Blas Delgado, 26 February 2001

Communities in Nassau County:

See also:

An orange flag with the seal of the county in the center.  The seal bears an outer white ring with the county and state name in blue, a golden disk, and a blue shape bearing a rampant lion and 6 gold spots.

What is now known as "Nassau County" was part of Queens County until 1899. "Nassau" was a name given to the whole of Long Island by the British; it was still used in the 1700's but fell into disuse (unlike the county names, which survive only because official business refers to them, there was no such power to enforce "Nassau" for the island). Of course, it was named for William.

When (Greater) New York City was consolidated in 1898, the western part of Queens joined, but the eastern part didn't. A year later, the eastern part formed its own county; after considering a few names, it settled on "Nassau," in homage to the old island name.
Nathan Lamm, 25 March 2002

The arms are those of the Dutch House of Nassau. The orange colour of the field is a reminder of the Dutch and their national dynastic colours of orange and blue. The Dutch were the colonial era rulers of Queens and what was to become Nassau County. Originally, Nassau County was a part of Queens County. When New York City consolidated in 1898, the citizens of Queens County's eastern 3 towns voted the following year NOT to join the new city. Instead they opted to live in a new county which was named "Nassau".
Daniel S. Padovano, 20 November 2002

Queens County was in limbo for a year- the western part in New York City, the eastern part not. Since two jurisdictions couldn't tax the same person, the western residents were paying their taxes to the City, and the County was getting nothing from them. This and other factors led the non-City parts to become a new county, in 1899. (Part of one eastern town, the Rockaway Peninsula, became part of the City.)
Nathan Lamm, 21 November 2002