Last modified: 2004-12-22 by rick wyatt
Keywords: prince george's county | maryland |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
by Pascal Gross, 23 December 1998
The simple, yet distinctive Prince George's County flag is a fascinating blend of history and heraldry dating back to the 11th century. Soon after the county's founding, it was granted colors for horses and foot soldiers and a flag consisting of St. George's Cross on a white field. The red cross of St. George has a long standing tradition of its own as the symbol of
Christian martyrdom since its first use during the great Crusades.
The county seal in the flag's upper left quadrant did not official become a part of the flag until 1963. At that time, a special committee suggested that the seal be added to "more definitely establish the colors as uniquely those of Prince George's County." The seal was designed in 1696 by Charles Beckwith of Patuxent. The coat of arms in four quarters symbolizes Queen Anne, France and England in the first and fourth grand quarters; Scotland in the second grand quarter; and Ireland in the third. The banner below depicts the county motto, "Semper Eadem," which means "Ever the Same."
Phillip L. Nelson, 29 June 1998