Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alabama - Seven Flags (U.S.)

Last modified: 2005-12-17 by rick wyatt
Keywords: alabama |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Seven flags over Alabama

1 2 3 4 5 6 7
[Flag of Spain] [Flag of Royal France] [Flag of Great Britain] [21 Star Flag of U.S.]   [Flag of CSA] [State Flag of Alabama]
Spain France Great
U.S.A. Alabama
C.S.A. Alabama

The flag of Spain was the first to Fly over Alabama. According to William Brown in his 1901 Alabama History, DeSoto entered the town of Costa on July, 2, 1539. According to Brown, the town was in the present county of Cherokee. The next stop of the Spaniards was at a town called Coosa, within the limits of the present county of Talladega, where they remained a month.

The flag of France was the second to fly over Alabama. The French made the first permanent settlement on Alabama's soil. The first exploration of Alabama occurred on January 31, 1699. The place was what is now Dauphine Island. In 1711 a wooden fort was built at Fort Conde de la Mobile, It was replaced in a few years by one of Brick. This was the beginning of the first city ever built by white men within the limits of Alabama. Iberville & Bienville were the main protagonists for the French. Bienville for over forty years.

The flag of Great Britain was the next flag to fly over Alabama. The middle of the 18th century saw the end of the long struggle between France and England in North America. The final contest involved nearly all the nations of Europe, and was waged by land and sea in every quarter of the world. It is known in Europe as the Seven Year's War, but in America it is called the French and Indian War. Canada was the chief seat of the French power, and in Canada and along its borders most of the battles were fought. On January 10, 1763 the final treaty of peace was made. This treaty is known as the Peace of Paris, and Great Britain, France, Spain and Portugal were the parties to it. France ceded to Great Britain all her possessions in North America east of the Mississippi, except New Orleans and the "island on which it stands." By the "island" was meant the land surrounded by the Mississippi and Iberville rivers, Lakes Maurepas and Pontchartrain, and the Gulf. Spain ceded to Great Britain the whole of Florida, including Pensacola, and Great Britain restored Havana to Spain. Some time afterwards it was learned that by a secret treaty made in 1762, France had ceded to Spain the remainder of her possessions in North America, and so Spain came into possession of the vast and unknown regions west of the Mississippi, as well as New Orleans. Thus, long before the State of Alabama began to exist, it was decided that men of English birth should possess the lands now embraced within its limits. No longer a borderland between the colonies of two great nations, the soil was finally given over to English speech and English laws.

The U.S. flag became the fourth flag to fly over Alabama on December 14, 1819 when Alabama became a state.

The flag of the Alabama Republic was the flag of Alabama for this next period. On January 11, 1861 Alabama adopted the ordinances of secession from the Union. It was on this date and until February 18, 1861 that Alabama was a free republic.

The flag of the Confederacy was the flag of Alabama after the inauguration of Jefferson Davis on February 18, 1861 until the end of the Civil War.

The flag of the State of Alabama was adopted on February 16, 1895.

Dov Gutterman, 26 March 1999