Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

County of Värmland (Sweden)

Värmlands län

Last modified: 2005-07-09 by phil nelson
Keywords: varmland | eagle (blue) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[flag of Värmland county] illustration by Mello Luchtenberg

See also:


About the flag

The flag is a banner of the arms, and the arms (and the flag) is the same as for (the province of) Värmland. The borders of the landskap (province) and the län (county) are approximately the same.
Elias Granqvist 2 October 2000


Official Blazon in Swedish

I fält av silver en blå örn med röd beväring.

Blazon in English

Argent, an Eagle displayed Azure beaked, langued and membered Gules.
English blazon by Željko Heimer, 4 October 2000

Historical Information

See also:

Municipalities (Kommuner)

The following communes are in this county (lan). The codes following the name are assigned by Sweden for statistical purposes.

  • Arvika (1784)
  • Eda (1730)
  • Filipstad (1782)
  • Forshaga (1763)
  • Grums (1764)
  • Hagfors (1783)
  • Hammarö (1761)
  • Karlstad (1780)
  • Kil (1715)
  • Kristinehamn (1781)
  • Munkfors (1762)
  • Säffle (1785)
  • Storfors (1760)
  • Sunne (1766)
  • Torsby (1737)
  • Årjäng (1765)