Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Portugal (1185-1248)

Last modified: 2005-12-17 by antonio martins
Keywords: escutcheon | bezant | quinas: 5 (11 plates) | quina: 11 plates | christ | portugal ancien |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[flag of 1185]
image by António Martins, 21 May 1997
See also:

Flag of 1185

King Sancho I changed the design to five eschutcheons (small shields) blue arranged in a cross (the ones in the sides pointing to the center, the other three pointing downwards), each charged with 11 silver circles. These five eschutcheons (quinas) are said to represent the five wounds of Christ (hands, feet and chest).
António Martins, 21 May 1997

This armourial bearings, called “Portugal ancien” (argent, five eschuteons set in cross, the middle ones pointing downwards and the side ones pointing inwards, each charged with 3+2+3+2+1 silver bezants) wre first used in 1185, with king D. Sancho I.
António Martins, 02 Oct 1998