Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Papua and New Guinea 1970-1971 (Australia)

Australian Trust Territory of Papua and New Guinea

Last modified: 2006-06-09 by ian macdonald
Keywords: papua and new guinea | new guinea | stars: 5 (white) | southern cross | stars: southern cross | bird of paradise |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag 1970-1971 (Papua New Guinea)] 2:3 image by Mark Sensen

See also:


From the Flags of Paradise 1996 chart:

1970-1971: Australian Trust Territory: vertical triband, blue with white Crux Australis [southern cross], yellow, red with white paradise bird.
1971-1975: Australian Self Government: current national flag.
1975-: Independent state: current national flag.
(but Dorling Kindersley 1997 reports a golden paradise bird).
Ivan Sache (?)

Both Dorling Kindersley 1997 and Barraclough and Crampton 1981, page 213, report the stripes being blue, white and green, but the correct colours were: blue, yellow and green. Sources:

Mark Sensen, 14 August 2001

Barraclough and Crampton 1978 and 1981 state "In 1970 the Australian Administration tried to introduce another divided vertically: blue at the hoist with the stars of the Southern Cross as in the Australian flag, then white, then green with the yellow bird of paradise. This was never popular and the matter was left to the House of Assembly."
David Prothero, 24 November 2005