Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Regional Council of Shomron (Israel, West Bank Occupied Territories)

Regional Council of Samaria, Mo'atza Ezorit Shomron

Last modified: 2004-12-29 by santiago dotor
Keywords: shomron | samaria | regional council | mo'atza ezorit shomron | west bank occupied territories | text: hebrew (black) |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Regional Council of Shomron (Israel, West Bank Occupied Territories)]
by Dov Gutterman | 2:3

See also:


Regional Council Shomron (Samaria) is one of the six Regional Councils in Judea and Samaria District, covering what is known as 'C' areas of the West Bank. This Regional Council is the local authority of the Jewish settlements in Jenin, Tulkarem and most of Shkhem subdistricts and in its area (but not part of it) are the independent local authorities of LC Kdumim, LC Emanuel, LC Alfe-Menashe, LC Ornit, LC Elkana, LC Karne-Shomron and the municipality of Ariel. Est. 1971, pop. 15,000. The above image is based on the desk flag, so there could be changes when used as a hoisted flag. Source: photo of the desk flag received from Ralph Phillips.

Dov Gutterman, 2 November 2001

The emblem of Shomron has not been formally adopted. Israeli municipalities in areas occupied since 1967 cannot register their emblems. The reason is that those areas are not legally part of Israel and according to international law they are governed by decrees of the military commander of the areas. Many Israeli laws are in force in those municipalities when adopted there by the military commander, but the Symbols/Emblems Protection Act of 1974 is not one of them.

Dov Gutterman, 19 January 2003