Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Gabon - Presidential flag

République Gabonaise

Last modified: 2006-08-26 by phil nelson
Keywords: gabon | president | equator | tricolour |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Presidential Flag of Gabon since 1990] image by Željko Heimer
Proportions: 3:4
Source: Smith (1982) [smi82]

See also:

President's flag

Presidential Flag of Gabon since 1990: National tricolour with white disk with the coat of arms in the middle. Before that a square flag being banner of arms was used, as shown, e.g., in Smith (1982) [smi82].
Željko Heimer

Former version of President's flag

[Presidential Flag of Gabon until 1990] image by Željko Heimer
Ratio: 1:1
Source: Smith (1982) [smi82]

Do we know why Gabon changed the presidential flag? I believe the president has been the same person since 1967: Omar Bongo!
Marcus Schmöger, 4 October 2001

Since its independence, Gabon has had only two presidents, Le'on M'ba (1961-1967) and Omar Bongo (1967-). 
Ivan Sache, 4 October 2001

It was asked why the President's standard changed in the 1990's in spite of no change in the President. A possible answer is political. In June 1990, the 16th French-African summit took place in La Baule. F. Mitterrand, then French president, gave a famous speech in which he urgently asked for more democracy in the African countries. It was not only a call but also a threat, which can be summed up as: "There cannot be democracy without development, but there cannot be development without democracy" (i.e. no more funds and military help from France if there is no progress towards democracy). In Gabon, a National Conference gathered from 27 March to 19 April 1990 and imposed multi-partys to president Bongo, who had to abandon a few of his personal powers. It is possible that this modification of the president's status was reflected by a modification of his standard.
Ivan Sache, 6 October 2001