Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Seine-Maritime (Department, France)

Last modified: 2005-12-24 by ivan sache
Keywords: seine-maritime | haute-normandie |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 76
Region: Haute-Normandie
Traditional province: Normandie
Bordering departments: Eure, Oise, Somme

Area: 6,278 km2
Population (1995): 1,241,500 inhabitants

Préfecture: Rouen
Sous-préfectures: Dieppe, Le Havre
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 70 cantons, 745 communes.

The department is named after the river Seine(776 km), tributary of English Channel.
It was formerly named Seine-Inférieure (Lower-Seine), and was renamed Seine-Maritime (Coastal-Seine) because Inférieure was regarded as derogatory by the inhabitants of the department.