Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Pyrénées-Atlantiques (Department, France)

Last modified: 2005-12-24 by ivan sache
Keywords: pyrenees-atlantiques | aquitaine |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 64
Region: Aquitaine
Traditional provinces: Béarn, Guyenne-et-Gascogne
Bordering departments: Gers, Landes, Hautes-Pyrénées
Bordering country: Spain (Autonomous Community of Aragon [province of Huesca], Autonomous Community of Navarra, and Autonomous Community of Basque Country [province of Guipuzcoa])

Area: 7,645 km2
Population (1995): 592,200 inhabitants

Préfecture: Pau
Sous-préfectures: Bayonne, Oloron-Sainte-Marie
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 52 cantons, 539 communes.

The department is named after the Pyrénées mountains and the Atlantic Ocean.
It was formerly named Basses-Pyrénées (Lower-Pyrénées), and was renamed Pyrénées-Atlantiqus (Atlantic-Pyrénées) because Basses was regarded as derogatory by the inhabitants of the department.