Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Morbihan (Department, France)

Last modified: 2005-12-24 by ivan sache
Keywords: morbihan | bretagne |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of the General Council of Morbihan]

Flag of the General Council of Morbihan - Image by Ivan Sache

See also:

Administrative data

Code: 56
Region: Bretagne
Traditional provinces: Brittany (traditional Breton province of Broërec)
Bordering departments: Côtes d'Armor, Finistère, Ille-et-Vilaine, Loire-Atlantique

Area: 6,823 km2
Population (1995): 633,000 inhabitants

Préfecture: Vannes
Sous-préfectures: Lorient, Pontivy
Subdivisions: 3 arrondissements, 42 cantons, 261 communes.

The department is named after the gulf of Morbihan (in Breton, little sea).
The department was officially named Morbihan on 4 March 1790. The General Council met for the first time on 25-30 July 1790, presided by M. Le Gros, former sénéchal of Vannes.