Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Vexillologist of the Year

Last modified: 2005-07-30 by rob raeside
Keywords: fotw | voty | vexillologist |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

[Flag of FOTW] by Edward Mooney

See also:


Each year the award of Vexillologist of the Year is made to a worthy individual on FOTW. The award was conceived and introduced by Edward Mooney in early 1999, who was at the time list-master.


  1. The nominee will be a recognized member in good standing.
  2. The nominee will be nominated by a member in good standing.
  3. No-one may nominate him/herself.
  4. The nomination must be seconded (or a second nomination made) by a member in good standing.
  5. Nomination can be for any service that contributes to the FOTW purposes.
  6. The role of the nominee for which the nomination is made should be briefly explained by the nominator.
  7. Service can be for a specific project, or for a leadership role.
  8. Voting will be by secret web ballot.
  9. A simple high vote will determine the winner.
  10. The winner and top three vote-getters are announced.

Past Winners

Past winners of the Vexillologist of the Year are:

  • 1998: Edward Mooney for services rendered in support of the mailing list and editing of web pages.
  • 1999: Dov Gutterman for his extensive vexiferreting of the Internet and contributions to uncovering flags
  • 2000: Pascal Gross for his graphical work in Swiss communal flags
  • 2001: Željko Heimer for his scholarly and graphical contributions to provide accurate national flags based on Album des Pavillons (2000)
  • 2002: no award
  • 2003: no award
  • 2004: Rob Raeside