Buy State Flags from 
Allstate FlagsBuy US flags 
from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Nord-du-Québec Administrative Region (Quebec)

Region: 10

Last modified: 2005-06-03 by phil nelson
Keywords: quebec | nord-du-québec administrative region |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

See also:

Regional Overview

1966: Nouveau-Québec Administrative Region is created.
1987: The region is renamed Nord-du-Québec.

Popular name: Le Grand Nord

Counties (2 territories):

  • Jamésie
  • Administration régionale Kativik*.

*Most people usually refer to the Inuit lands as Nunavik (meaning 'place to live'), though this term is a little vague and does not designate any administrative division of Quebec. The toponomy commission says that Nunavik is a sociocultural region, a little larger than Kativik (meaning 'place to gather'), the area north of the 55th parallel, which includes 14 villages nordiques. This probably means that Nunavik includes the 15th Inuit community, Kiggaluk, located in the Cree village of Chisasibi (Jamésie).

Note: The communities of Beaucanton, Val-Paradis and Villebois are part of adjacent Abitibi-Témiscamingue for tourism purposes.

Municipalités régionales de comté flag information

No known flags.

Municipal flag information

Incomplete Information

  • Village nordique de Kangiqsualujjuaq (Kativik):
    I saw a flag on television in January 1999: white with a caribou facing the hoist with black lettering above and below it in a semi-circle.
  • Ville de Matagami (Jamésie):
    I saw a partial image of a flag between 2000 and 2002 on the website: white with blue towards the bottom and green towards the top.
Luc Baronian, 20 May 2005