Last modified: 2005-12-17 by phil nelson
Keywords: burin | newfoundland and labrador | canadian pale |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors
by Arnaud Leroy, 16 November 2005
Source: Burin town hall
Burin Newfoundland and Labrador does not appear to have a website, but at Explore Newfoundland and Labrador one can find the following about the town:
The Town was officially incorporated in July of 1950, but has been settled since the mid-to-late 1500's. Such is its isolation that it was only in 1949 that the first car traversed the Burin Peninsula highway, which was completed that same year. But as a fishing port, Burin harbour's shelter made it one of the greatest fishing grounds for centuries, and its waters once were thronged with schooners and steamers. Fishing and maritime industries flourished - the business names of Spurriers, JJ Coady's, Holletts, Marshall and others still abound, but the islands of Great Burin and Stepaside visible from the Parish House windows are now deserted, and the harbour is quiet.
The Fish Plant and shipyard in nearby Marystown are remnants of its great past.
Phil Nelson, 8 December 2005