Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Alberta (Canada)

Last modified: 2006-09-30 by phil nelson
Keywords: alberta | canada | mountains | plains |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Flag of Alberta (Canada) image by Željko Heimer


ISO 3166-2 Code: CA-AB
MARC Code: abc

See also:


Blue with arms in the middle. ratio 1:2. officially hoisted 1968-07-01. Civil and state flag on land.
Željko Heimer, 16 July 1996

This flag was introduced by Provincial Order in Council No.75/67 (The Provincial Arms Act) of 17 January 1967, published in the 'Alberta Gazette', 31 January 1967, with Section 4 of 'The Flag Act' (Chapter 31 of the /Statutes of Alberta) of 1 May 1968 being enacted by a Royal Proclamation published in the 'Alberta Gazette' of 31 May 1968 and effective 1 June 1968. To the best of my information the flag was last confirmed by the 'Emblems of Alberta Act' (Chapter E8 Revised Statutes of Alberta) of 1980.

Although I don't have a copy of the relevant Order, I also understand that the shield is taken from the Provincial Arms granted by HM King Edward VII on 30 May 1907.
Christopher Southworth, 25 January 2005

The shield was the complete provincial arms when the flag was adopted in 1967. The crest, supporters and motto were added to the arms, but not to the flag, on the 75th anniversary of the creation of the province on 30th July 1980.
David Prothero, 26 January 2005

Armorial Bearings


Armorial Bearings of Alberta were officially granted by Royal Warrant, May 30, 1907, by King Edward VII. The shield is topped by St. George's Cross on a white background, representing King George III and symbolizing British heritage. An azure-blue (official colour of Alberta) sky highlights the snow-capped Rocky Mountains, shadowing the green foothills, the prairies and the wheat fields. Blue, along with Gold, are official colours of Alberta.

The Crest, Supporters and Motto were added to the Armorial Bearings by Royal Warrant on July 30, 1980, by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II.

The Crest sits atop the Armorial Bearings of Alberta and is comprised of a Royal Crown of sovereignty resting on a beaver's back which, in turn, rests upon a silver and red wreath which sits atop a blue helmet. The beaver is a symbol of Canada, representing the role of beaver trapping and the Hudson's Bay Company in Alberta's history. The traditional mantle is white and red, Canada's official colours.

The Supporters, a Gold Lion and a Pronghorn Antelope, represent power and the natural resources of Alberta respectively. They stand upon a grassy mound dotted with the official flower of Alberta, the Wild Rose. The Motto, FORTIS ET LIBER, means 'Strong and Free'

Valentin Poposki, 26-27 November 2005

Lieutenant Governor

[Lt Governor, Alberta] image by Marc Pasquin and Mario Fabretto

Subdivisions of Alberta

Alberta has the following subdivisions.

  • 44 counties
  • 22 municipal districts
  • 1 regional district
  • 3 special areas
  • 7 improvement districts
  • 15 cities
  • 2 municipalities
  • 109 towns
  • 102 villages
  • 52 summer villages
  • 1 town site
  • 88 Indian reserves
  • 4 Indian settlements

All municipalities in Alberta are on same territorial level. There are no "inner" municipal bodies in Alberta. Hamlets are unorganized settlements, which are part of municipalities.
Valentin Poposki, 21 March 2006

Flags of Subdivisions