Buy State Flags from Allstate FlagsBuy US flags from Five Star Flags
This page is part of © FOTW Flags Of The World website

Subdivisions of La Rioja Province (Argentina)

Departamentos de La Rioja

Last modified: 2006-08-19 by francisco gregoric
Keywords: la rioja | provincia de la rioja | capital | ilustre ciudad de todos los santos de la nueva rioja | ciudad de todos los santos de la nueva rioja | chamical |
Links: FOTW homepage | search | disclaimer and copyright | write us | mirrors

Subdivisions of La Rioja Province:
  • Angel Vicente Peñaloza Departament
  • Arauco Department
  • Capital Department (Ciudad de Todos los Santos de la Nueva Rioja)
  • Castro Barros Department
  • Chamical Department
  • Chilecito Department
  • Coronel Felipe Varela Department
  • Famatina Department
  • General Belgrano Department
  • General Juan Facundo Quiroga Department
  • General Lamadrid Department
  • General Ortíz de Campo Department
  • General San Martín Department
  • Independencia Departament
  • Rosario Vera Peñaloza Department
  • Sanagasta Department
  • San Blas de los Sauces Department
  • Vinchina Department
See also: Other sites:

Capital Department

Departamento Capital (Ciudad de Todos los Santos de la Nueva Rioja)

[La Rioja City flag] 9:14
[De facto Version, no official law or edict making the flag official]
by Francisco Gregoric, 05 Feb 2006

At we can find information about the flag and emblem of the municipality Todos los Santos de La Nueva Rioja in the province of La Rioja. At, there’s more information about the flag (in Spanish). There we can read that it has not been officially adopted but this should happen during the next constitutional convention (no date quoted).
Pascal Gross, 08 Jan 2002

According to information provided by the municipal government, all the flags made are 0.90 m wide × 1.40 m long. This is the same ratio than Argentine Ceremonial Indoors Flags 9:14.

The coat of arms in the flag is the official symbol of the City of La Rioja. It was created by municipal decree No.372 on December 24, 1941.

It has a Spanish heraldic shape. Inside it and above the Velazco Hills that are located next to La Rioja City. Then the silhouette of the city appears. There is an Argentine ribbon that appears as a sash. The cross stands for the Christian faith, and the "falucho" hat recalls the old municipalities. The golden key recalls the traditional "cities keys" of ancient cities,
Francisco Gregoric, 05 Feb 2006

  • [???02] Francisco Gregoric (2002): Banderas de Ciudades Argentinas : Ciudad de La Rioja [published in Estandarte No. 38]

Chamical Department

Departamento Chamical

Chamical Department flag
by Olivier Touzeau, 18 Oct 2005


No more details about the flag, which is obviously inspired from the provincial flag of La Rioja.
Olivier Touzeau, 18 Oct 2005